Yes, I miss being beside you

missing-someone11/17/13
Dear Shel,
Losing your wallet was God’s way of telling you to slow down. You can’t hear God’s voice when rushing

all over the place. You seem to find peace when you draw, and God’s gift of art comes through.
Be sure to get some rest. You always get cranky when you don’t. You always possessed so much strength, courage, and persistence. Now, work on consistency and stability. These ‘scars’ have made you stronger and smarter. I’ve never really known you to be afraid. Even as you gave birth to our first child, you just seemed confused as how to get him out! God is by your side, helping you with the task at hand, so gain strength knowing He is there!

No, I haven’t been able to order any food from canteen since September 18, mom’s birthday. What they feed me here in isolation isn’t near enough for a grown man, but I just keep going, doing my best not to think about the hunger pains. I will work on getting more coffee, , but for now have a piece of bread and some applesauce and a few apples for later.

I miss being beside you at night. You would always keep me so warm that I would have to come out of the covers; sometimes you would steal them all…
Yes, I agree that this is such a waste of precious time when we could be together, with our boys, doing things in the world to make a difference. It is also a way, though, for us to cling to each other through these trials, to see the true value of each other as individuals, and as a unit. God works in mysterious ways! We must each learn at our own pace, and God is patient with us. It will work according to his plan!

I ponder hours on our reunion. That’s all I will say. Reading what you write make it so real for me in a place where there is no touching, feeling, smelling or holding another. It makes one become less than human. ..you’ve always been a beautiful woman; I was always proud to be your husband. You have a glow about you. It makes this place seem less cold when you visit, even behind the concrete and glass.

2 thoughts on “Yes, I miss being beside you

  1. I wasn’t sure how to leave a comment that wasn’t tied to a blog post, so please forgive my ineptness.

    Just wanted to wish you calm and peaceful holidays, and to encourage you to hang on to hope. I can only imagine how difficult that is sometimes.

    I am keeping you and your loved ones in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

