I should have honored you, truly

10-24-13

respect women

 

I’ve been thinking about you so much lately. I’ve had to remember ways that I

could’ve treated you better, things I wish now I could do that I should’ve been

doing all along. You see, today’s man hasn’t been taught to respect women. Most

have abusive fathers, if they even knew the one they had, and see only the wrong ways to do things to their own moms. Depending on how those children’s moral compass is instilled from birth, this will be the key to how they treat women, and/or themselves.

By seeing the same things happen to their own moms, they then go out and treat future women, or allow themselves if they are grown women, and then their own children, to get the same treatment. They come to know this as acceptable behavior. Forget them every knowing self-esteem or confidence to stand up for themselves…

So, if a woman grows up without knowing her boundaries, or how to demand respect, or how to respect herself, then how can a man show respect where none is required? Yes, men should always respect a woman, but until the woman understands by being taught by her family first about how to take pride in herself, then  it will be hard to draw a respectful man to her.

I know now that I should have shown you much more respect, and would have, had I been closer to God’s word. I had considered myself to be a respectful man, but now, looking back, I see it was only a small part. I should have ‘honored’ you, truly. This would have shown our children how to honor and respect you, as well as each other. It always starts with the man, as he must lead the household, holding the family together, instead of tearing it apart.

Well, the game will be starting soon. It’s 8:10 p.m. now, so I will close this out for now. I need to hold you in my arms, but I’ll just have to wait. Tell the boys I love them. I can’t wait to hear from you again…

 

Leave a Reply

